San Jose Animal Advocates
 
Recap:  My name is Shirley and I was rescued from the San Jose shelter because I was too fat to be put up for adoption.  Since November, I have been fostered by a caring human, and have been trying to lose weight.  My weight loss has been a challenging journey.  Read my previous posts here.
Picture
Feeling good about myself!
I’m excited.  It’s January and I’m scheduled to go back to Club Chub.  I’m really a different girl.  I am Shirley and I am a confident, happy, healthy tabby girl who is losing weight.
I spend my days grooming myself, looking out the window, climbing my cat tree and exploring the house.  

There’s a new 12 year old rescue kitty here and she doesn’t keep her tail out of my face when she sits on my favorite couch.  But I am being calm. I don’t hit her or hiss at her. I don’t even move.  I stare at her, but she stares at our foster mom. As long as her tail stays at least 2 inches from my nose, I’m OK.  I am becoming a better kitty. I know how to move if I don’t like it. I do not have to be cranky.  I wish I did not share this house with so many kitties. Isn’t there a forever home for me?

I must be getting smaller. I am enjoying sitting in my foster mom’s lap.  When I first got to the rescue house, I always felt like I was going to fall off her lap. Now, it seems that I fit.   I have been a good girl and have been sticking to my diet.   My foster mom didn’t.  She said its because they closed her Weight Watchers center and the new place is too far and has bad parking. That’s her excuse. I stick to my diet. I want to be thin. I want to be adopted. 

I hope my new weight is good.  Then I can tell everyone in this blog.  And then someone will know what a good girl I am.  And maybe someone will want to be my very own diet buddy.  Maybe you?

Wish me luck…

Picture
Ready for bikini season!
Update:  Shirley has met her target weight of 12.5 pounds!  She has officially graduated from Chub Club and is ready to start her new chapter in life!

Do you have a chubby pet?  Just like humans, overweight animals are at great risk for health problems.  Talk to your vet about a supervised weight loss program.

Special thanks to Pinnacle Animal Hospital, and Shirley's foster mom for their great care of Shirley!





Leave a Reply.